Awful GRE scores... I'm freaking out over here.

pessimist1234

My cumulative V and Q was 293 out of 340 so its decent but not phenomenal by any means. However, I got a 2.5 on the awa section. I do not know what happened. Normally I'm a pretty good writer. In my undergrad I wrote a 20 something page paper for my internship and got an A.

I think I will be fine. I don't think the schools I applied to really look at that section. I have good recommendation letters and a decent gpa.

Edited by pessimist1234

What field are you going into? If its a science, there probably isn't as much weight on the AW or V sections...although 2.5, as you know, is definitely not good. If there's time, I would retake it. If you're applying for Fall 2012 (which is what your profile says), then there probably isn't time.

Princeton Review has a free test you can take where real people grade your AW section and tell you why they gave you the score they did. It was really helpful for me.

The score may not completely destroy your app--it just depends on the schools you're applying to. For some the GRE is just a formality while for others, it's how they make their first round of cuts. Contacting programs directly (as someone in another post said, contact POIs or DGSs not program coordinators) can be really helpful in figuring this out. Most will be honest with you.

• 4 weeks later...