Should I be Tempering my Expectations? (Biostatistics)

I hate to create another thread about Biostatistics, but I also didn't want to hijack someone else's thread. I've been doing some research, and I'm wondering what kind of program I can get into, or if I should temper my expectations.

I'm a student at a state school in New York pursuing a bachelors in applied mathematics with a minor in applied statistics. My GPA is currently above a 3.5, but some of my math grades have been shaky, in my opinion. I received a B+ in Calc I and a B in Calc III (for what it's worth, it was an online class and I know I would've done better in a traditional class), I also received a B+ in my first mathematical statistics class. I'm currently taking real analysis and numerical analysis; they're challenging, but I'm fairly confident I'll be getting at least a B+/A- in both. Additionally, when I started this degree (this will be my second bachelors degree), I had plans to pursue a post graduate degree in a biomath field, so I'm also taking bio and chem courses. This is my last semester of heavy math courses; next year I'll be taking genetics and organic chem, along with a couple of statistics courses.

So that's my background. Should I both attempting to apply to a program like the University of Washington or another top tier school? Or should I scale back and look at top 50 schools instead of top 10?

Also, since I wouldn't be starting grad school until the fall of 2013, in an effort to pad my resume, I was going to try and do research with professors at my school. The problem is, none of it is directly related to biostatistics. Is it worth doing, just to say that I have research experience? There's also a possibility that I could get an internship at a local hospital. Should I make a serious effort to pursue those, or would I be better off with a biostatistics related independent study?