Undergraduate publishing/conferences?

Hey guys. I was just wondering, is it normal/expected for undergraduate English students to publish papers or present at conferences? Have any of you guys done these things in your undergraduate years? I feel like I saw somewhere on these forums someone mentioning publishing as an undergrad or presenting their first paper at a conference...I've never done any of these things before (I'm currently a junior) nor have any of my English professors ever even mentioned such things. I actually just had to do a bit of research to find out what conferences are and what it even means to present a paper.

If it is something that I should be doing (considering that I'm going to start applying to PhD programs next fall and I can't imagine that this kind of experience would exactly hurt my chances) does anyone have any tips on getting started?

Thanks in advance for your advice guys, I'm addicted to you awesome people here on GradCafe. ^_^

No, it's not normal. By all means, if you are ready (and your mentors think you are ready), go ahead and submit a paper to a conference. But don't rush publishing. Publications will follow you around for the rest of your life; you don't want to be attached to one you will regret later on, whether it's because it is in a sub-tier journal or it is a subpar example of the work you are (and will be later) capable of producing.

No, it's not normal. By all means, if you are ready (and your mentors think you are ready), go ahead and submit a paper to a conference. But don't rush publishing. Publications will follow you around for the rest of your life; you don't want to be attached to one you will regret later on, whether it's because it is in a sub-tier journal or it is a subpar example of the work you are (and will be later) capable of producing.