Taking a Year Off Before Grad School- Good or Bad Idea??

Chizette

I am a senior undergrad art history student in Miami, Florida and I am about to graduate with my BA. My grades are very good, and I'm interning currently at a museum where I help manage the docent and volunteer program. My plan is to take a year or so off after I graduate to gain some experience in the field, and I am looking into some paid internships and programs in London and New York. After this period of time, my plan is to then apply to grad programs. Is this a smart/viable thing to do? Does taking a year off look good to grad schools? Any suggestions, advice, or input is greatly appreciated!

I vote: Great Idea! I honestly cannot emphasize enough the importance of the gap year. About half of my incoming class in my current MA program took the gap year, and they all say they're the better for it. I know many others who wish they had taken a gap year between BA and MA/PhD. It really is a great time to work on languages, catch up on scholarship without the pressure of school, figure out what you want to do with your life, etc. etc. Don't fret. As long as you are doing something constructive (e.g. language study, internship, etc.) the gap year will reflect well on you during admissions season.

I'm not sure you have a choice since it's too late now to apply to programs for Fall 2012 anyway. I considered this, made the decision to apply and then received a full-time job offer at the place where I currently intern. It's tempting, but I feel if I spend too much time (more than one year) between undergrad and grad school I'm going to lose momentum and connections with my recommenders.

I spent about a year as an intern after finishing my BA, and it was a great experience-- my supervisor was also one of my recommenders when I applied for MA programs.