How old are you?

tryffelgris

I'm going to be 28 when I start. Glad to see not everyone here is straight out of undergrad :) (but I do expect to be a bit older than my cohort average)
Not necessarily. I got the impression that late 20s - early 30s is quite common in grad school.

I'm 29, by the way.

25 when i start! oof.

have any of you youngin's ever had a real job? always wondered about that. like, if having a job and being out there in the real world affects grad experience/performance at all.

Depends on what you mean by "real job." I delivered pizza for a year - LOVED that job. I work two part-time jobs now, both at my college - one of them especially has a lot of responsibility tied to it. But I haven't had a job where they would expect me to stay for 5+ years or anything.

EDIT: note that two part-time jobs = 40 hrs/wk = full-time

I'm 23 now and I'll be 24. I have been working a full time job for 13 months now. I think it's been great life experience. I work in an educational setting, so I didn't really veer off of my goal but just getting a feel for the politics, different time management (i used to take late classes and sleep in a lot now i work 9-5). Also, I'm able to apply sociology to everything which is the tops!

25 when i start! oof.

have any of you youngin's ever had a real job? always wondered about that. like, if having a job and being out there in the real world affects grad experience/performance at all.

I'm going to go with the easy answer here and say that it depends on the person. When I graduated from undergrad, I was in no way ready for a PhD program. It took years of work experience - and life experience, for that matter - for me to get to this point. But I completely understand that not everyone needs that level of soul-searching before sending out their applications.

I'm probably going to be the old married lady of my cohort at 27 when I start.