New Wardrobe

Quantum Buckyball

Hi guys,

I have decided to donate a large portion of my current cloth collections to Salvation Army before school start in August. I haven't purchased any new clothes for about 7 years (when I graduated from high school). I think it's about time for me to ditch jeans and t-shirts and start dress more professionally. What's the typical budget for a new wardrobe (for men) for a graduate student? I found a website describing a typical wardrobe would cost around $300 to $500 (http://artofmanlines...nly-wardrobe-1/), but I don't want to wear anything fancy like the ones they listed on their website.

Thank you,

J.

For my school, I would say +80% of the chemistry (male) TAs wear jeans, and the rest wear shorts. Most of them wear tees or long sleeve checkered shirts.

Edited by aberrant

Many people in the physical sciences don't worry too much about how they dress. I think it's worth it to think about what you're wearing a little bit but you don't have to be like "job interview" professional. I think you should dress up to a higher level than, say, t-shirt and track pants/sweatpants, though. Jeans/khakis are good in-between pants, and I like to wear them with a clean t-shirt on most days. When I am TAing, I wear a polo-shirt (ooh so fancy :P).

But if you don't have any formal wear, you should definitely invest in a dress shirt, dress pants, suit, tie, belt, dress shoes (not sneakers!) and matching socks (i.e. black?). You would need at least one set for formal events, especially if you are going to a dinner event (banquet at a conference for example). I know many physical science people pride themselves in being casual and some of them will wear t-shirt + jeans to these events. I think this is a very unprofessional but that's just my judgement of their character, not their work :P So make sure you have the right wardrobe for the right occasions!