Graduate Research Assistant paid unequally- What can I do?

ValenciaL

I am a second year graduate student in a two year Master's program. In June I was hired as a graduate research assistant, but was told that the position would not qualify for a stipend or tuition waiver. Instead, I am paid $10/hr for 10 hours of work per week. During the past week the professor I work for notified the Dean of our campus that she was in need of another GRA for our project. The Dean immediately assigned a first year student to work with me. However, this student WILL receive a stipend and tuition waiver! A representative from the financial aid department said he had never heard of a situation like mine and recommended that I begin an appeal to the dean of my college. I do not understand how my work doesn't qualify for a stipend/tuition waiver, yet my coworker does.

Has anyone else ever been in this situation? What advice do you have that may help with my appeal?

Are the two of you in the same program for the same degree?

Otherwise, the other GRA may well be paid partially from another source, in which case it's not the work that you're doing but the sources of payment that matter.

From my understanding of graduate assistantships, it's not usually about the work you're doing, but the position you're doing it from. You're assigned funding, and then found a place to work, rather than where you work deciding your funding, a least in part.