Didn't get into PhD program last year-what to do differently or just apply for masters?

biochemgirl21

Hello,

I graduated from university with my Bachelor's Degree in Biomolecular Science andChemistry. My GPA was a 3.377, and my gre's were both over 70 percent (my quantitative was 88%). I have been published, have great recommendations, and have completed a lot of research. Here is the thing, I applied to a 4 phd programs last year, only interviewed at one, and was not given a spot at any of them. Which leads me to the next question, what did I do wrong? I am currently reapplying working on stronger recommendations, some graduate classes I am taking in the mean time, and a stronger personal statement. Is this enough or should I just stop applying and apply for my masters first? I don't want to disappoint anyone again with another round of rejections.

Thank you so much for all your help!

You can apply to both PhD and MS programs at the same time, and I'd recommend applying to more schools. As you discovered, it's really competitive right now...

How spread out were those 4 schools in competitiveness? If they were Top 5 or 10 programs, your GPA and GRE might have just been too low to make the first cut. However, both are respectable (just not fantastic) and if you spread out the applications to a range of programs you should be able to get interviews and acceptances. If you're published in the standard sense, I'd be surprised if you couldn't get into Top 20 range programs.

Keep in mind, though, there is a world of difference between published in your school's undergrad journal and a standard academic journal, and middling author of 15 can mean almost nothing (and adcoms know this). How do you know your recommendations are great; what are you doing to make them stronger?