GRE Quant Score Panic

Kg00kg

Hi all. I know this question has probably come up before, so please excuse me if this has been answered recently. I know there is a similar thread, but it is more focused on the hypothetical needs of GRE scores.

So anyways, I recently took the GRE and did not score very well on the Quantitative section. When I say not well, I mean like 60th percentile. However, my Verbal score was above the 95th percentile and my writing score was also strong. The weird thing is, I actually do math for a living right now, but just did not brush up on my high school math concepts that much before the exam. Perhaps my work experience will reflect that I am not disabled when it comes to mathematics? I had very limited study time (2 weeks-ish) and due to the importance of the Verbal score to most programs, I tried to spend my study time on that subject matter.

Due to the strong Verbal score, I am really hesitant to retake the exam. Would you worry about the low Quant score when it is offset by a very high Verbal score?

I appreciate everyone's advice!

How important is the Quant score for your program? Do you need a good score for admission or for funding? It's a silly test, but some places consider it important -- others less so. It's really hard to give you a definite answer...

Well, my area of interest is Ancient History. From what I have heard Quant does not really matter, but you also see the advice of "do not score poorly." I suppose this question comes down to the actual experience of individuals; does it really matter? There are many conflicting opinions of how much the test matters in general and how much the various pieces factor into the overall evaluation.

• 1 month later...
  • 4 weeks later...