TA for Politically Opinionated Professor

plato435

I am a second year PhD student and am currently working as a discussion leader. Part of my responsibility is to attend the large lecture sections. The lead instructor for the course makes it clear which way she leans politically. While I do not personally disagree with her perspectives, I can tell it makes some students angry or uncomfortable. I do not feel that the lecture hall is the right forum for the lead instructor to communicate her views, political or otherwise. And being an election year, the subject of politics is already highly charged.

I am not sure what to do. I think that her comments will be brought up in the discussion sections, but am not sure how or if to respond. It is my belief that the classroom can challenge deeply held beliefs in implicit ways, but should be an overtly value neutral setting.

Has anyone been in a similar situation? If so, how have you handled it?

Thanks for any thoughts!

How do you make the classroom "an overtly value neutral setting"? Do you imply to students that letting the hungry die is okay because to say otherwise would be an expression of values? Here's what I would do. If someone brings it up, say that politics and the professor's political views aren't on the agenda because you're there to discuss X, Y, and Z topics. And point out to them that X, Y, and Z will be covered on the exams and that if they get sidetracked in the conversation, they're making learning the material more difficult on themselves.

• 3 weeks later...

I think it depends on the field or subject. Do the prof's viewpoints directly relate to the material at hand? (For example, is she trying to relate an issue in history to current events, or is this just coming seemingly out of nowhere?)