Should I mention my age?

Hi all,

I'm a really young college student. I started my degree program as a pre-teen and I'll be graduating at a high school age. As I'm starting to write my SOP, I've been debating whether I should or shouldn't mention this fact. Here's the pros/cons I've considered:

Pros:

1. Being a young student is different, and maybe this would appeal to a POI or make my SOP interesting.

2. The experience of being 10 years younger than my peers has really shaped me over these four years. I could even make this a major theme of my SOP. Being a young student is a major factor of who I am, and it feels like I'm misrepresenting myself if I ignore this point.

Cons:

1. I don't want professors to judge me on my age alone. In the past, disclosing my age has led to me being instantly judged, and sometimes it's a poor reaction.

2. I'm concerned that an admissions board might think of me as a liability or have some other bias against admitting a young student. I know this would be considered age-discrimiation, but I actually had this happen to me when concerns were raised about my age as an undergraduate.

3. I'd like to get into a grad school based on who I am and my qualifications, not my age. I've done quite well as an undergraduate without sharing my age with professors, and I don't see any reason to change this.

Previously, I had decided not to mention my age on my SOP for the reasons listed above. However, I recently made a visit to a competitive Ph.D program where the visit coordinator shared my age with the professors I planned to meet. Every professor I met asked me about how I started college so early, and two (both being POIs) told me to keep in touch. I'm not sure that I'd have had the same reaction if they didn't know my age.

Any thoughts or advice? I want to start working on my POI, and I'm not sure whether making my age a main point (or even mentioning it at all) would help or hurt my chances of admission. Thanks in advance!