Email chain with POI - what to do next?

rockbender

I have been in the process of emailing POIs for a couple of months now, to limited success. Recently I started including people more on the fringe of my interests just to try and get more responses. I guess it sort of worked? I emailed a professor last Friday and he emailed me back (rather quickly!) on Friday evening. He seemed enthusiastic (an alum from my undergrad university) and wanted to set up a time to talk on the phone. I was busy over the long weekend and have been dragging my feet in responding. His work really is on the fringe of my interests (although I have a lot of lab experience in his field from undergrad), and I was hoping to hear more about his projects before committing to a phone conversation (I am really uncomfortable/awkward on the phone - it would hurt way more than help). Plus, since then I talked to my advisor about the other professor's research, and he (my advisor) didn't think he (the other professor) would be a good fit for me. So my questions are:

1. I've waited so long - should I still send a reply? Or does the point come across (rather bluntly) from the fact that I haven't responded yet? I am pretty sure at this point that I will not be applying to work with him, but his email was nice and he DID actually respond, unlike many others. I feel like propriety dictates that I should send a reply but -

2. Do you have any advice on how to word it so it doesn't come off rude? What I would like to say is 1. sorry for taking so long to reply (though I have no good excuse) 2. that his projects are not really along my main interests 3. i emailed him to find out if his current & future projects might incorporate an element of my main interests 4. maybe after that we could talk on the phone (but not now)

Help???