Feeling Like Joining This Program Was a Mistake. Should I Leave?

meowth812

I know there are lots of posts like this, but bear with me. I'll really appreciate it.

Kind of going through a bit of a crisis here, and I'm not sure if it's normal or if I just really, really hate my field of study. A bit of background info: I'm a first year PhD student in Biology (particularly animal physiology), fresh out of undergrad.

I first made the mistake of going to a grad school because I really wanted to get in somewhere. I LOVED learning and undergrad so much that I thought I'd love to get a PhD. I was told by many professors that I wouldn't have a problem getting in at all. Unfortunately, my interests are evidently quite popular and all the programs I applied to didn't accept me. When I asked for specific reasons, they said that I was more than qualified, but that so many Masters students applied for the same positions that basically no undergrads were accepted. A week later, I got an email from a professor working in another field that wanted me to join his lab, so I just said yes because I was desperate to fulfill my dream of getting a PhD. I moved over 600 miles away from my family and fiancé in order to get a doctorate in animal physiology. I found out rather quickly that my professor's research was really not for me, and I just chose something to work on that was closest to my interests. I started learning techniques and I've found that every aspect of this field makes me want to pull my hair out. I enjoyed the courses in undergrad, but the actual practice is maddening and absolutely nothing in the field so far has caught my interest enough to look into for a project.

Interests: animal behavior, conservation biology, evolutionary biology, behavioral neuroscience, origin of language/culture/music

Stuck with for the next five years: animal physiology