paranoia following applications!

wilderbeast

So this application & waiting & (so far) rejection process has made me extremely paranoid.

Paranoid in the sense that I don't know *exactly* why things aren't going well. I keep thinking - what if my research advisor really thinks I'm a moron, and just doesn't have the heart to tell me, and that's what all my recommendation letters say? Or, what if I'm somehow a total fraud, and got good grades by luck or fortune, and I really don't know anything? How do I know how to rate myself? It's crept into my research, my thesis, everything. I feel like I can no longer gauge when my work is good, because thus far it's been "good" enough at my school, but how do I know that it's really worth anything? Maybe I'm a terrible scientist and I just don't know it, and no one will tell me... I have gone back and forth between elements of my research and thesis thinking one minute that it's great and the next total crap! It's making me feel like I am losing my mind, and I suddenly have no idea who I am!! :?

has anyone else felt this way since the application process started?

It's okay, I felt and still feel the same way. Looking at it from another angle, we're still students and in the process of learning. Also, that's what the PhD is for: to develop us into researchers!

Trust me when I tell you that you are not alone. This process is very difficult for everyone, and causes a lot of soul searching.

Well stated. You are not alone. And as for soul-searching, well, that cannot be stated enough. Welcome to grad school!

oh good heavens. i 've even had DREAMS about this. i was actually really calm, cool, AND collected until i heard from the first school at the end of the last week. even though, hallelujah, it was an acceptance, i've now had dreams every night that are total freakouts about getting in or not getting in.