How Rude! (or, when grad programs suck at wooing)

sr0304

I had an odd interview today with a top ranked program. The first part of the interview was spent addressing a question that completely befuddled me: what would you say to someone who thought you were a professional student?

why was I befuddled? i finished my first and second masters in a timely manner, have a publication, have served on committees...if I am a "professional student" then I am working too hard at it. One might say i am working as if i expect to get a job or something.

I have, in fact, heard rather the opposite: that I spend too much time on professionalization and that I am "rushing" into the market, which is also a strange claim, but at least one that can be evidenced.

The interviewer said I gave a great answer. Then, the final twenty minutes was spent talking about why the program is great and supportive. But all I could think about was--who came up with that lame and--I'll say it--hurtful question? If they were at all considering inviting me into the program, you would think they would be a bit more tactful.

Anyways--has anyone else been through an interview wherein they changed their minds about the school they thought was great? Because I was scratching my head for hours thinking, "What was that?" Or am I being too sensitive...

I think they were probably just trying to "get at" your goals for your education, make sure you have a clear plan for where you are going next. I agree that the question is a little off-putting, but that was probably part of the point as well: can you respond to unexpected questions in a professional manner, without getting flustered or defensive? Sounds like you gave them what they were looking for. I don't think it would ruin an otherwise appealing program for me