Is this year particularly harder? What should I do?

hello_world

I am pretty sure I am not the only one waiting for results, but I have been going through mental breakdown recently; I expect (since no news from anywhere at all...) a few rejections from schools that I thought I would get in. Sadly, rather higher-ranked programs are left... I am indeed fearing all-reject. I hope someone can help me analyze my problem and what I can do to improve my chance for perhaps next year.

I graduated from a top-4 computer science undergrad last year with GPA >3.9/4.0; while in college, I did two research projects with two professors, both of whom are well known. I was included in one of publications but it was fourth author I think... Anyways I thought I did pretty well (I am now doubting the quality of letters though), so I got letters from them and one from a math professor (math class). My GRE scores are 157/170/4.0, and I have low-80 percentile comp sci subject test. After graduation I have been working in a big software company, although doing projects totally unrelated to my research interest.

Please correct me if I am wrong, but I have thought that this is an okay profile to get into a top 20 PhD program. I am suspecting that the biggest factor here is the recommendation letters, and since I already graduated and am doing something unrelated, I am not even sure how I can improve my chance if I apply again next year. If it was GRE or SOP problem, yeah I can study hard and put a lot of time to improve them... 

Honestly I am regretting that I didn't apply to any safety programs  :unsure: I guess I was too arrogant.

I think a lot of schools are still working through applications.  I am in the same boat as you though..  I am very nervous now.  I just got my first interview offer yesterday so that was a big relief.