International Education Chances

edmajor46

Hello everyone,

I am writing because I am currently an undergraduate student with an interest in applying to some graduate programs in International/Comparative Education. Currently, I am not applying (I will this coming Fall), but I would love feedback back for others who have applied and have been accepted or denied to International/Comparative Programs.

Realisticly what are my chances of getting into a good school like ( NYU, Stanford, Lehigh, Vandy) with this background:

- Looking to graduate summa cum laude, 3.88 GPA, from major public university in Midwest

- Highly active in international programs on campus

- Winner of multiple scholarships

- 3 research positions as undergrad

- International teaching experience in Italy

- Speak some Italian

- Presented at two confernces

- Work with refugees

- Other various volutneer experiences

- President of a sports club

Thoughts on anything would be greatly adored :)

Cheers

• 1 year later...

Hello,

I applied and was accepted to International Education Policy / Comparative Education programs at Harvard, Columbia (T.C.), Oxford, and GWU. I think your profile is great, but given the fact that most highly selective programs are not just looking for the summa cum laude, I recommend you research the curriculum of each school and ID the professors you admire (read a few of their publications) and connect where they are and where you want to be.

My experience was similar to years except I work in Peru and had at least four years of international work experience within the field of internationale education, counseling, and immigration.

Truth is, my BIGGEST recommendation is for you to ask yourself why you wish to apply right after graduation vs. taking a year or two to get MORE experience in the field.