got kicked out from lab

pringles

I am finishing up my second year in graduate school in chemistry and I just got kicked out of my lab.  I was in a physics heavy lab and my background is in chemistry.  My advisor said that I did not have enough background to do well in his lab and fired me. I had a steller undergraduate record and I am in one of the top schools in chemistry. However, I really struggled with research in the lab I got fired from. It was just too much physics. I have already spent almost two years of my phd in this lab and I don't know what I should do now. I still want to continue doing research but starting over all again in another lab doesn't seem feasible. Since I am already two years in, if I start fresh it will take me a ridiculous number of years to finish my program. Since I am an international student, I cannot drop out right now without finding a job first and since application deadlines for a lot of jobs have already gone, at this point I don't think I will be able to find a job. I am extremely stressed out. Do you guys have any suggestions on what I should do? 

Is your research tied to that lab?  Could you somehow continue your research on your own, but work in another PI's lab to get the tuition waiver, etc.  Since this is your advisor, I would think having a sit down talk with him.  I guess I'm not clear what connections the lab have to your work.  If they're completely related and tied to that lab, then I would see a problem.  However, if you can carry on with your research while working in another lab, that may possibly work.  But most importantly I think you need to talk to your PI and ask him what your options are and in general about your future pathway.