Evaluate my funding offer!

kazuya

Hi All!

OK I applied to about 10 schools in the US for a PhD in statistics. The only place that I have heard from so far is UC Davis. They have even communicated the final offer.

Now my problem is that I am a complete noob regarding this. I have no idea at all about whether the offer they have made me is good or bad - I don't even fully understand what all the heads mean. :unsure::wacko:

Can someone please help me out?

Statistics Fellowship Stipend                        $9,000
Teaching Assistant Salary                            $8,800
In-state TA fee remissions (estimated)              $14,600
Non-Resident Tuition Fellowship                     $15,100
Total Amount of Financial Support, 2013-14          $47,500

The professor who communicated the initial offer to me also mentioned that they are going to try for a university fellowship. Should I ask him about that?

Thanks All!!!!

This is a fairly decent package - the 14.6k + 15.1k is basically the fees paid on your behalf - check if there is any residual amount you need to pay (usually there is a very small residual amount), and also check whether you need to pay for medical insurance separately (approx. USD 2k per annum) or whether this is included in these fees.

The stipend+salary is the pre-tax income YOU will receive, usually given for 9 months - in your case this amounts to approx. USD 2k per month for 9 months. Check if you can get additional support during the summer ? 

Did the prof. mention the university fellowship after this offer - in which case definitely ask him. If it was before this, then he was probably talking about the Tuition Fellowship.  

Best of Luck !

Thanks a lot!!!!

• Yes there is a residual amount mentioned - "tuition not covered by the TA fee remissions...this amounts to less than $800 per year".
  • Medical Insurance is not mentioned.