Machine learning without much CS background

Hi,
So so far I've gotten into a few stat PhD programs in the 10-20 range (u.s. news), and in picking a program I'm trying to think of a few research areas that interests me. My background is in pure math and econ but I want to do something applied, other than in econ or finance. Applications to the biological sciences is one area I'm looking at, and I know that a biology background isn't needed for this.

On the other hand I'm also interested in machine learning, but I'm not sure whether this is a viable option.
My CS background is only an intro programming course with matlab, a second course with C, and an intro numerical analysis course, nothing else.

So here's my question - how hard would it be to succeed in ML with only that much CS background?
It seems that most people who go that route have at least a minor in CS or EE.
Is it actually common for people without much CS to do ML, or would it be more realistic to disregard ML when picking a program?

Any thoughts will be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Edited by tabis

I'm in a similar boat.  Interested in Machine/Statistical Learning but don't have much of a programming background.  I know R very well and have some statistical computing experience but not much beyond that.  I'm hoping I can just pick up what I need as I need it.  

You can do ML without a CS background. MATLAB should be a minimum though. And a class on algorithms (so you can get familiar with complexity analysis) would be also useful.

Having said that, the best ML departments have a lot of CS/EE faculty (Stanford, CMU etc.)

ML is a very, very broad area at this point, spanning fairly abstract statistical theory to quite applied computational methods. With a basic knowledge of programming, I think a smart person could pick up the requisite skills.