Too late to get back in 'the game'? (SocPsych)

Misty W

So here's my sob story and question:

I graduated from my undergrad in 2008 with huge aspirations of going into a Social Psych program (emphasis in psych of religion). HOWEVER, couple of years prior to graduating, I was "blessed" with taking over the responsibility of raising my niece and nephews (long story that I won't go into). The gist of it was this - single woman, working full-time, going to school full-time, and raising 3 kids.

Now, 5 YEARS (long, long years) later, at age 37, the last child is 14 years old and I'm rotting away at my inner core because I am working a job for the paycheck (albeit a decent paycheck) and am missing psychology and research like a long lost first love.

In my previous life as an ambitious student, I hade an overall 3.8 GPA with a 4.0 in my core courses. I have a healthy amount of research experience, had great working relationships with a few professors who ooh'd and ahh'd about how well I would do, and still am the nerd that looks up research topics for fun, even to the extent of doing literature reviews related to the hypothesis and writing up reports. I'm even (re)learning German so I can read research in psych of religion in that language. I'm thinking of auditing some classes at my alma mater, re-connecting with my prof's, and maybe even an independent study.

Now, the whole reason for this blah blah blah: I'm looking for honest opinions about the reasonableness of my desire to get back into school due to age, time away, etc. Any other middle agers out there that have decided to swim out to the deep waters of knowledge again after walking along the shore for a long time? Any thoughts, experiences, warnings you'd like to share?