Importance of Country

swagatopablo

I am a freshman PhD student at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore doing research on Computer Networking. My question might appear a bit out of track in this forum, still I felt like putting it. My point is a lot of people say that I should have done my PhD somewhere in the US, as if doing PhD in a country itself will make you a great researcher. Albeit my university provides excellent infrastructaral facilities, my supervisor is very friendly (and sincere at the same time), the above issues depress me at times. Do they mean that I could get more value after my PhD from a US university (I am not talking about MIT, Stanford grade, there are plenty of not so good ones.) even if I do good research here in NTU, specifically when I apply for a postdoc/assistant professorship (which may be in the US?)

One of the reasons I know many students are told to come to the USA is the large presence of English in the business and academic world. A great deal of science literature in all countries is being published in English, and sometimes it is easier to get those papers that aren't in your native language translated to English. Being bilingual in English and your native tongue is thought to be a major benefit. That plus the huge number of institutions helps to make the US a good place to study for foreign students. I'm guessing the sole fact that there are so many institutions here in the US is still why it is more commonly suggested as the English option? I'm not sure. There also seems to be a good deal more funding though different governments to send students here than for some other countries. I don't see why studying in Singapore would be a bad thing; as an American, that is a place that I'd love to go, even just for a few weeks. As far as electronics go, you're in a great place to learn. However, since I am not bilingual and because I know there are exceptional programs in my field here in the US, I'm staying here for PhD.