Archival Research (newbie)

jsolo25

I'm a first year PhD student (Latin American history) and so far so good... Yes, the coursework is challenging and keeping up with one's peers can be daunting but all in all, I've enjoyed it way more than what I was doing before. 

One thing is concerning me a little bit... I won a modest fellowship (internal school one) to go abroad this summer and do some archival research. Taking travel expenses into account, I have worked it out so that I'll have 11 days in the city where my archive of choice is located. Of the 11, 8 will be total research days... The archive, a small regional Brazilian one, is open 10 hours a day and I realistically expect to spend about 6-8 hours a day researching. I know this is all contingent on many factors, but for some of you more seasoned PhD students on here (especially those in international fields), does about 48-60 hours of total research seem sufficient to gather enough to write a reasonably good short paper to begin send to conferences? 

I have a fairly solid idea for the specific period/issue I'm interested in dealing with, and every exchange (via email) I have had with the staff at the archive has been highly positive (I don't really think they get too many international researchers). Still, am I deluding myself by thinking that I could get anything of true value in 8 days of dedicated work? 

thanks!

A lot of it depends on the size of the archive and the collection(s). One of the collections I surveyed as a former archivist measured over 2000 feet. I was working on it for six months, five days a week and only saw around 10 percent of it. However, if the collections are smaller, I am sure you will be ok. Do they have finding aids? Ask for those in advance. That way you have an idea what you are looking for when you arrive.