ASHA requirements - physical science

I am trying to determine which courses I need to take to meet the ASHA requirements for biological sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, and social/behavioral sciences. I'm pretty sure I have all of them covered except the physical science (someone correct me if I'm wrong):

math: stats, psych stats

biological sciences: biological psychology, biology of birds

social/behavioral sciences: adolescent psych, personality psych, abnormal psych, etc.

Does anyone know what qualifies as a physical science? I know chemistry and physics probably, but anything else? I would much rather take something like geology or astronomy if those qualify.

Thanks! Are there any other "gen ed" requirements I am missing?

I thought which classes to accept was at the schools' discretion, and that ASHA ultimately approved their decisions through accreditation reviews.

Edited by kingspeech

Hey!

I'm a first year grad student so im way too familiar with asha's changes. Asha just changed the physical science requirements this year to a chemistry or physics class if you become certified after September 1 2014, which if you're going to start this fall you will be. But fortunately they don't specify the credit amount the class has to be or if it has to be graded or not so I have a few classmates who are taking a one credit chemistry seminar that is just pass/no pass.

I think for the physical science requirement you just need to take a physical science class with a lab. Somebody can correct me if I am wrong though.

I have never seen any mention of a required lab credit in any of the ASHA materials.

Yikes! I did not know that! I took Geology and was told by my advisor when I started my Communication Disorders undergrad program that GEOL would suffice for my physical science requirement. I hope that doesn't count against me when schools look at my application. =/

Hey!