Am I nuts for thinking of turning down Denver-Korbel with 100% funding for SAIS

I was finally ready to make a decision and go to SAIS when Denver e-mailed me this morning offering a full tuition scholarship and an RA position if I wanted it. Now I don't know what to do. I really like what I know of SAIS' program. They have a great China program, my biggest area of interest, and all the rest of their classes seem really interesting as well. I like the economics focus, I'd never taken much economics, but I've been more and more interested in it since I graduated and SAIS seems to offer a good into to economics even for people with little basis in it. SAIS also has some really interesting professors who teach American Foreign Policy my next biggest area of interest. Being in DC would be good too with so many conferences and lectures held their all the time.

But the difference in price over two years is about $95,000+ dollars with the money Denver offered me. Denver doesn't have any where near the reputation SAIS does but it seems like a good school. Korbel has some good China stuff including one professor who is a big deal in China studies. They seem to be big on Security Studies, which I'm sort of interested in.

Making things more complicated I'm thinking about pursuing a PhD after a MA. I wouldn't get into a top PhD program now so I figured getting an MA would help out a lot. In the end I want to go to SAIS, the program seems great, I just don't know how I can turn down that much money.

We're in the same boat - I got the same last minute email on Thursday. My decision was between Korbel and Georgetown, and after a bunch of soul-searching (as much soul-searching that can be done with almost 0 time to consider) is to go ahead with Georgetown.

A couple of things that I considered, that you didn't mention: