The only person who read my thesis was my supervisor. isnt that a waste?

Did you file a copyright application for your thesis? I had to do that through a third party agency when I submitted my thesis to school.

I was given a choice either to,

(1) allow free access to all to view and download my thesis electronically via. Google

(2) keep it private and only school where I graduated from can view it.

Edited by Quantum Buckyball

I looked that up. Apparently you can file for copyright but its not unnecessary. According to copyright law the author of the thesis is the copyright owner, unless you give your rights to someone else.

Which option did you go for?

Were you going to upload it as a book on Google?

Thanks for your response  :)

I have graduate from undergrad with a 150-page-thesis (not the same as you, but still) and wondered the same. My supervisor advised me to "recycle" it. I have therefore used chapters/sources/part of chapters/further discussion as papers in journals and/or lectures at conferences. 

It is a nice way to "promote" your own work, right?

I can't speak for all fields, but that is likely far more common than you would actually think.

The paragraphs that you so meticulously crafted and carved, are likely only ever to be read by you, your supervisor, and possibly members of your graduation committee.

You might disagree with this, but, I suggest you consider the other side of the coin.  How many Masters or Ph.D dissertations have you personally read from start to finish? 

When you say, no one will ever give me credit for this work, well, have you ever given credit to anyone else for a thesis? 

The question isnt, I wrote a thesis why isn't the field realizing its significance, but rather, what can I do to now demonstrate or reveal the significance. 

I think your adviser is dead on when he says to recycle what you wrote, possibly to then use for journal publications which will have a higher chance of being read.