Help Appreciated

Hello,

I am in a difficult situation and would appreciate any insight that can be offered. I am currently an undergraduate sophomore in NC studying Human Development and Family Studies. It took me a while to find the career for me, helping others in the exact way I wanted, but I know that Speech Pathology is for me. My school offers Communication Sciences and Disorders as a Bachelors degree, but it is extremely competitive and they take a very limited number of students. My GPA is quite low, due to family emergencies since I began college, and admission is solely based on GPA. If I don't get accepted into the program the first time I apply, I will have to wait another year to apply (and I don't have other classes that I can take during that time). I also wouldn't be able to retake classes to raise my GPA because of my schools' policy.

Anyways, it seems that having a Bachelors in Communication Sciences and Disorders gives you a "leg-up" in the race to graduate school, so I am worried that if I choose to finish my degree in Human Development, that I will not be able to find a three-year graduate program near NC that includes the pre-requisites or a post-back that I can complete affordably (because no financial aid is offered).
Any advice is appreciated!

Sorry for the long post.

Slpassion,

Every year, many students enter great graduate programs without an undergraduate degree in the field. Majoring in Human Development should not really interfere with your hopes of Communication Disorders graduate work. Go ahead and apply for the CommD program at your school, and if you are denied entry all will still be well. Try to minor in Comm Sciences or just take as many courses in it as you can. If you are unable to do this, take related linguistics or psychology courses, anything you can to show a graduate committee your familiarity with the field.