Semitics Programs?

HinnehMahTov

I'm looking to apply to doctoral programs in Semitics with a matriculation of fall '14. I came to the decision to apply very late in my master's program; consequently, I'm late to the game in researching schools and advisors. As I'm sure most of you can imagine, I'm feeling very ignorant and overwhelmed by the application process, and seeing as I have no idea what I'm doing, I would welcome any advice I can find!

The relevant (as I imagine it) background is as follows. My interests are broadly in comparative Semitics -- I just plain love learning languages, and I'd love to end up teaching them one day. I also have a real love for the text of the Hebrew Bible, though my passion for theology is secondary in terms of research interests. I have a solid background in Hebrew, Greek, and German; I also have a semester of biblical Aramaic. I'm married with young kids, and we've decided that funding is a must for our situation. I'm currently studying for the GRE and talking to anybody and everybody I can find who might have something worth my consideration.

I was glad to find helpful lists of good programs here and Would anyone add any schools to what's written there? Better yet, does anyone know of any programs that sound like they might be a good match for someone like me? As ambiguous and unhelpful as this plea for help may be, I'd appreciate some input from those who have been here and done this. Thanks!

The first link you posted has more than enough helpful comments from recent graduates of top Semitics programs (Brandeis, JHU, ect). 

As for which is the best? That largely depends on your specific interests. As in any field search each program and find the best fits. Then apply accordingly!