Admission chances from Physics background

galaxstar

Hi everyone,

I'm looking to apply to Computer Science MS or PHD programs in the states, but my background is from Physics at one of the top universities in Canada (UBC).

My background:

Academic:

I am minoring in Computer Science, and have obtained top of the class or top 5% standing in almost all of the courses I've taken, including advanced artificial intelligence, machine learning, computer graphics and functional programming. I have additionally been in the top of my class for most of my Physics courses, including several awards.

My overall average is 89%, which is a solid A just bordering an A+ at my university, although we do not have a GPA conversion system.

Research:

I have participated in 4 distinct research projects. One in laser technology, one in ultra-cold atomic physics with an internationally renound professor in the field, one in Particle Physics, and one in Natural Language Processing. The three in Physics did not lead to papers, although the most recent one should lead to an international conference publication this year. All research supervisors can provide very strong reference letters.

Industry:

I spent 8 months working for a large company in Vancouver which does satellite imagery analysis, the principal investigator here can also give me a very strong reference.

Volunteering/other:

I have had leadership positions at my university, some teaching experience, and some community involvement for science outreach.

GRE/Tests:

I'm taking next month, but I expect them to go fairly well.

With that in mind, the schools that I would be applying for would be hopefully near the top of the pile, but I'm not sure if this is reasonable or not:

- Berkeley

- Stanford

- Cornell

- CMU

- MIT

- Washington

-Caltech

Backups:

-Toronto

-McGill

Can anyone give me some recommendations/thoughts about how feasible my plan is? It would be much appreciated.

Thanks all!