NELC/Middle Eastern Studies Fall 2014

Hi all, first time starting a forum on GradCafe - I poked around the site and haven't yet seen a NELC/MES forum for this year's application cycle yet so I thought I'd get a head start on it. Currently working on studying for the GRE exam that I'm taking October 5th. Would love to give/get support throughout the application process. First thing's first - a little about me:

Undergrad: I graduated in 2012 from a big state school with a BA in NELC, 3.9 overall, 3.96 departmental

GRE: Don't know what my GRE scores are yet, but I'm guessing it'll be in the 150-155Q and 165-170V. 

Languages: Italian, Arabic, French - in order of strength.

Major awards/scholarship: Graduated magna cum lauder, Boren scholar, Phi Beta Kappa, Fulbright finalist

Study abroad: Spent a year in Italy researching refugees seeking asylum from the Arab Spring revolutions

Research interests: nationalism, intellectual constructs of ethnicity, culture and national identity in the Arab Middle East, post-colonial transculturation in the M.E., ethnogastronomy

Applying to (list will likely be changed based on actual GRE scores):

Harvard (PhD Anthro/MES)

Washington (the only M.A. program I'm applying to)
Berkeley (PhD NES)
Georgetown (Joint degree, PhD Arabic/MA Arab Studies)
NYU (PhD MES/Islamic Studies)
Princeton (PhD NES)
Michigan (PhD NES)
U Penn (PhD NES)
Chicago(PhD NES)

Your turn! 

• 5 months later...

Hey there,

I tried to start the same forum as you, sorry I never saw yours, I've had a few people answer over at 

"NELC 2013 - Middle East, Near Eastern Studies"

I'm interested in Arabic language ideology and intellectual production, applying to Berkeley, UT, and UCLA

• 4 weeks later...

I emailed the DGS cos I have to respond to a different offer...but she was quite vague and didn't say what it meant if you didn't hear. So obviously I've been unable to concentrate all week