safety schools for Victorianists

Hello all,

I'm an undergrad applying for Master's/ Ph. D. programs. My field is Victorian literature. I am applying to a few great programs but can anyone recommend any quality "safety schools" preferably at private institutions? Thank you.

ComeBackZinc is right--believing any school can be a "safety" will not serve you well in this process.  That said, MAs are often easier to get into than PhDs (except the funded ones).  I would not recommend an unfunded MA, but if you are set on grad school in English and have some money saved up, you may want to apply to one or two.

I think the best idea is to apply to a wide range of schools (I am aiming for 12-15), put effort into every application by starting early, and hope for the best.

Thirded.  Zinc is unfortunately right--there are hard schools to get into, and harder schools to get into.  Any school even sort of worth its salt is going to be a rough road to travel for admissions.

That being said, there is a slight difference between getting into UPenn/Harvard/whatever, and getting into, like, (insert non-ivy league here), but not in the matter of difficulty, only in the number of applications they receive, and even that is not a guarantee.

The only "safety" measure I can suggest is to look at the rankings, and pick things that aren't in the top ten.  It doesn't mean much, but then you should be able to dodge the ivy league schools.  But it's most important to apply where you fit--if there's someone at, say,  Harvard that is perfect for you, then you have just as good a chance at getting in there as you do somewhere else.

TL;DR: CBZ said it, I just rambled, and it comes down to the same thing.

Edited by Katia_chan