What if I don't meet the required 3.0 for last two years of coursework?

boopiter

Should I even bother?  Seriously, this is freaking me out.  I'm graduating after next term (fall 2013) and I just calculated my last 90 units of coursework and I have a 2.95!  I did something really stupid and took all my chemistry classes during these years.  Turns out I'm TERRIBLE at chem and this really brought down my gpa.  My cumulative is 3.14, major is 3.45.  I have 2 years of research experience (my own personal project for which I was flown to an annual conference to present and will soon be submitting for publication).  I also have interships/volunteer experience and a stellar letter of reccomendation from my advisor of my research.  I have 4 interviews lined up with potential grad shcool advisors, one of which is at UW (my top choice) and I've had a good word put in for me by both my advisor and her close colleague whom I met at the conference I attended.  I'm really worried, though, that all of these things won't even be looked at and my app will be tossed out during the initial screening screening for gpa.  What should I do?  I haven't taken the gre's yet, so I can't speak of my score, but I'm studying my buns off and will be taking them in the next couple months.  Any advice?  Thanks! 

I wouldn't worry about your app being tossed in initial screening, I'd worry about it having trouble at the University level approval stage towards the end.

There's not a lot you can do other than apply and see, sadly- some schools are just stickier about minimums than others, and some departments have more pull to get the school to bend on requirements than others.