How likely is it that moving from one school to another will backfire?

TLDR: I am a biology student who just started a PhD program (don't have a master's). Religious culture at current institution is driving me nuts. Have been accepted at another school for this season (Fall '13), and they will let me move schools if I find an advisor who will take me on as a student. What is the chance of talking with professors at target school to see if they'll take me as a student will backfire and make my life miserable (i.e., current advisor gets a phone call and the whole plan goes to shit and doesn't work out)?

I'd like to first say that I've read a ton on these forums and elsewhere to filter advice relevant to my situation, but haven't seen anything about what the chances are of everything falling apart when trying to leave your current institution. I hope I will be welcomed here, and am desperately searching for any advice. Thank you for your time and energy for reading this and giving it some thought.

I applied to a few schools specifically to work with professors in the area of research I'm interested in. I narrowed it down to two schools and then ended up picking the one that gave me a larger stipend.