Preparing Myself for Grad School

earlybird94

I am new to this forum, so forgive me if I break any rules, both spoken and unspoken, and also for this extremely lengthy post! The topic of grad school has been on my mind a lot recently, despite being a sophomore in undergrad, and I was hoping to get some advice as to what things I'm doing wrong, or right, in terms of preparing myself for grad school and grad school admissions, so here goes.

About me:
As I said, I am currently a sophomore studying Materials Science and Engineering at a very highly ranked (depending on who you ask) school in my field. I am also pursuing minors in Computer Science and Electronic Materials, both out of personal interest. Here are some of my relevant stats:

GPA: 3.80/4.00
GRE: 157 V, 168 Q, 4.5 W

Important to note is that my GPA is only for freshman year, so it probably isn't a good indicator for anything right now. My GRE score is also official, not a practice test score. I took it freshman year to see if it was something I would need to focus on later, sort of also for fun as well, but I did decently well and am wondering if I should take it again in a year or two. I can probably do better, as I didn't do any prep whatsoever beforehand, but I'm wondering whether I should bother spending time and energy on the GRE if I don't have to. 

I have been involved in research since fall of my freshman year regarding hard drive disks. I also spent this past summer in a different lab at a different school working on 3D printed architectured ceramics. No publications yet, but I very well may have one by summer time.

In terms of research topics for grad school, it is honestly too early to tell, as I have yet to take the bulk of my core classes, but I am heavily leaning toward topics involving nanostructured materials or are related to semiconductors, hence my second minor.