Psychology GRE How to

CharlieRae

To those hoping to take the psych GRE,

I just got my psychology GRE scores back, and I thought that I would post my study plan, as some part of it seemed to be effective. I got 99th percentile on my psychology GRE exam. I have an honours psychology degree, so I have taken many courses in psychology.

While in university, I had taken textbook notes for all of my psych classes. What I did was study my first year psych notes. I then purchased another textbook (Psychology by Myers - http://www.amazon.com/Psychology-10th-David-G-Myers/dp/1429261781/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1384895757&sr=1-1&keywords=Myers+psychology), and took notes for every chapter in this text.

I also created flashcards for every bolded term in the Myers Psychology text. 

I combined these flashcards with flashcards created from my university textbook (can't recall the name at the moment).

For both of these textbooks, I created a list of all of the major headings of each chapter, and I would highlight them when I knew all of the points contained within that particular heading or subheading.

I also bought the Princeton review, and went through and checked items off as I knew them. I found Princeton to be helpful for tidbits of information that you would find at a 2nd year course, that I wouldn't have thought of studying.

Thus, I initially spent a lot of time typing notes, then a lot of time creating flashcards, and then a fair amount of time going through flashcards and the princeton book. I also looked at the Kaplan text, and created flashcards for any concepts I hadn't come across in either of the two psychology textbooks, or princeton's book. 

I did all of this studying in 6 weeks time. I would say 2-3 hours, 6 days a week. The first month was typing out the chapter notes, which sometimes was quite painful.