UPENN

kstubbs11

I applied in September, had my interview in November and got my acceptance the day after. The only reason it was so quick was probably because I applied on the first day you could. My gpa is at about a 3.0 and I have 3 years experience as an EMT in a mid size city.

Planning on applying to Penn - looking for access to work in urban education environment but also some faculty with chops in different therapeutic treatment methods. Believe their MSW program offers both, though the ticket price is a bit discouraging. 

kstubbs, what was the biggest draw for you?

though the ticket price is a bit discouraging.

Their program is incredibly appealing, but I did not apply because of the price tag. I spoke to them and was fond of their passion for social work on all levels--macro, mezzo, and micro. Their dedication to the field is evident. Edited by citychild

The biggest draw would be the oppertunities available for students such as placements and the city of Philadelphia. Yes the price tag is hefty but I believe the alumni network that yiu gain is invaluable especially with the hospital and chop right next door. I also like the 3 days of field placement instead of the normal 2 most schools do. I did my interview in person and would certainly recommend it. Another hugs draw was the overall vibe I get from the school. Like I said my gpa is nowhere near what most apply will be but I was still given the chance to pursue an ivy league education.