Biology student desiring biochemistry PhD. Advice please?

Iwanttobethebest

Hi everyone,

I'm new on here and I'm in need of advice. I am a junior undergrad student at a small liberal arts school, yet I am pursuing a degree in biology (more molecular than organismal). Although, as I've begun taking upper division courses I've realized my passion seems to lie in the mechanism of cellular processes at the biochemical level. As a result of this self-discovery, I am feeling more and more like pursuing a biochemistry phd program is right for me. I want this. However, I'm not sure how big schools offering biochem programs view a biology major (both in general, an also in the sense that I am from a small school in Georgia). Despite the prefix of bio- in biochemistry, all the schools I've researched at least seem partial to chemistry majors.

Is there anyone here that can comment on this situation, on how an ambitious biology student can make it to a biochemistry phd program? Any advice is welcomed, and thank you for your time!