Pre-med to M.S. in Biotechnology, help needed!

ahimsa000

Hello,

I was a pre med student at my school (UCI) for the full 4 years, then I had some trouble with balancing work and school (I had to work) and I ended up with a 2.76 cumulative GPA. After long deliberation and serious soul-searching (and working as an EMT) I decided that being an M.D. or D.O. isn't for me. Anyways, I have done my research on what I want to do, and I'm very interested in a masters in biotechnology. Here are my stats:

-Work Experience:

• 24 Hour Fitness: Service Rep, promoted to Service Manager after 1 year (2 yr total)
  • UCI School of Medicine: Lab assistant for PI who is the dean of admissions at UCI SOM (2 years) 
  • UCI School of Medicine: Lab Manager/Research Assistant for very successful PI in neuroscience (1.5 years)
  • Pacific Ambulance: EMT for this ambulance company (4 months)

-Volunteer/Intern Experience:

• Medical internship in Nepal for one month
  • ER Volunteer at St. Joseph's hospital (4 months) 
  • Research Intern at UCI SOM for PI (neuroscience one; before I got the job there) (1 year)

-Publications/Abstracts:

• 1 paper in review
  • 3 abstracts presented at Society for Neuroscience conference in Louisiana and D.C. 

GPA is sub-par at a whopping 2.76.

GRE *practice tests*: Verbal section 150, Quantitative section 170

I'm set to take the GRE on January 10th, 2014. Applications for most programs are due by March/April

Do I even have a chance? Thanks for reading! 

SR

• 3 weeks later...

I just took the GRE, and got my verbal and quantitative scores: Verbal: 148, Quantitative: 160. I don't know if I should retake the GRE and then apply? Or what, but I'm semi-happy with my Quantitative score.