Admissions requirements for a PhD in Education

Leónes

Hi all, 

I'm currently a sophomore - although I probably won't be graduating till 2017 because I'm not taking classes full-time (need to work).

I have a few questions about admissions requirements for a PhD in Education, and was wondering if anyone would be willing to give me advice:

[1] I know its often "technically" possible - but is it common for students to get into PhD programs in Education straight out of their undergraduate degree?

[2] Is an undergraduate degree/major in Education (usually) necessary?

[3] Do you need to have done educational research before applying to a PhD in Education?

And finally, [4] Would you have any advice for how I can make my application as competitive as possible over the, erm, next 3 years?

Thanks very much for your time!

Leónes

You don't need an undergraduate major in education to obtain a PhD in Education. You can major in any field. What counts in the doctoral application process is a good GPA (major GPA > 3.5 out of 4.0), extensive research experience in an education-related field, good GRE scores, and solid letters of recommendations from professors who can write positively about your potential. A senior thesis and/or publication is a plus but not generally required. Depending on your field, you may need to complete a master's degree in education and have professional work experience before you can apply directly to PhD programs. This is definitely true in educational administration and higher education and student affairs.