MFA as a Parent

lapintadora

Anyone? I'm a late '20s year old parent of two youngsters. I finished my undergrad with the two of them as well (one born right before finals) as the top graduate in my program, while my husband was also a PhD student, so I know a lot of the challenges involved. BUT, I'm unsure of the specific difficulties inherent to the structure of an MFA and being a parent at the same time. Any advice would be great. 

HI!

I am currently a second yea MFA student at UW-Madison ( three year program) I have a 2.5 year old son.

My wife is amazing and is home with him most days. I will say it is not easy, but it is doable. The university here is enormous. 

The school has a very large parent organization dedicated to students with kids. They often hold activities for the youngsters for hours, while we can study

or whatever. They also have child care scholarships that pay a large part of the childcare costs. Colleges and Universities know that MFA/PHD etc etc happen to be adults that are older and more than likely have or may have a child why they are at University....That being said, I limit the nights I go out and socialize with the younger grads at bars or music venues. Its all about finding the right balance. I dedicate the weekends to my family therefore my week days are brutal. needless to say you don't have time to waste. Studio time is for exactly that, time is precious. And I often miss my little guy after busy work day so I wanna go home.

so contact your school and see what programs are available. And my advice, don't deny the fact you have kids, it wont be a deciding factor on their admissions, chances are that it wont even come up.... plus the world needs more artist having kick ass babies with killer names.

good luck!!!!