Very incompatible writing and verbal scores...should I retake this?

voprosi

Hi everyone,

I've been stalking this thread for a while trying to look for someone in the same situation, but I figured that it might be better to actually start a new thread with my actual scores.

I'm probably going to apply for the next round of applications for a bunch of competitive history PhD programs, so I still have a little bit of time before really working on my SOP and writing sample.

So, here's my dilemma. For verbal, I have a 169, which is the 99th percentile. Here's the catch though: my writing score is 4.5, or 78th percentile. (If it matters at all, my quant scores are about the 97th percentile). I am really happy with my verbal and quantatative scores, but the writing score seems very strange to me. 4.5 isn't a bad score, but it isn't really up to par with my other scores. I consider myself a pretty strong writer, but I'm not too good with time-constraints.

There's really no guarantee that I could do better if I retook the test. And I don't really know if I can put in the effort and maintain the high scores in verbal and quant sections. However, I also don't want to put myself in the "maybe" pile of applications just because of my mediocre writing score.

So, what are your thoughts on this? Do you think I should just retake the GRE to improve my writing score? Or is it not worth the time and money?

I am in almost the exact same position as you, but with even more discrepancy between verbal and writing. I also got a 169 V, but only a 4.0 AW :unsure:. I'm embarrassed about it, but also think that the GRE essays are pretty dumb (and, therefore, didn't spend much of my time preparing for it). I am hoping that my writing samples, written about things that I actually know about and have an interest in, will negate it. It seems super high GRE scores are not top priority for most schools (?) so I am sure a 4.5 won't exclude you right off the bat.