My advisor is pushing but not very helpful..

Relationship with advisors seems to be a forever topic on this forum. My story isn’t new but it’s related to my graduation and further application, so I really appreciate if you could give me some advice… Thanks!

I’m a second year master student in a social science program. I’m writing my thesis and applying to PhD programs. I think I have some problems with my advisor and I’m really frustrated about it.

My advisor is not that kind of profs that delay your work. Instead she replies to my emails and my writings very quickly, which I really appreciate. And she’s worried about the progress of my thesis. Every time I emailed her she kept reminding me to get my experiment part start as soon as possible. This is good, since a little push would accelerate my work. But it seems that’s all what she wants to say to me right now, and she always ignores my other questions.

She isn’t not at all helpful. When I asked her for experiment materials she is willing to help. But other than that, she seems very reluctant to give further help.