Acceptance/rejection/waitlist notification

So I'm brand new at this whole "applying to a literature Ph.D" game and since I'm here around some of those better informed than me, can anyone lend a hand and discuss a little what the typical style is for hearing back? Do universities typically send out their rejections and then acceptances? Vice versa? Do they feel remorse when they crush dreams or is it a fun hobby? When do they typically inform applicants that they've been waitlisted? Do most/all schools waitlist? Is there a particular time (early February, mid-February, March, never) that acceptances or rejections typically come? 

All of this is to say QUELL MY INSECURITIES AND TELL ME THINGS BECAUSE APPLICATION STATUSES ARE NOT.

Also hi. 

Well, I'll chime in with my general sense of things.  And I'm sure people more in the know will completely shoot it down.  But from what I've observed and heard (on here and from real life friends who've applied), good news comes in February.  Doesn't mean there's no such thing as early and mid-March acceptances, just that you have a little reason to feel disheartened if February passes and you've got no acceptances.  A friend of mine told me that she did hear from places in early and mid-March, but that they were M.A. programs, not Ph.D.  I also hear that some schools just never even tell you one way or the other, which I think is really, really rude.  People want closure, and given that they worked hard and spent money on apps, I think it's rude of schools to just never even send an email saying that you're rejected.  I think this can be done pretty easily, even if it's via mass but blind-copy email to the big lot of people who aren't accepted.

All of that said, I plan to react emotionally in the following way:  

February passes with no acceptances = feel pretty disheartened but still with *slight* hope if a few schools are still pending.