Caltech or MIT for Chemical Engineering PhD ?

YoonC

Hi guys,

I have a tough decision between Caltech and MIT for chemical engineering PhD, and I have fundings for both programs.

I am wondering how competitive each program is and how difficult it is to pass the qualification exams at each school. Also, since the sizes of two schools are a lot different, the environments will be probably very different as well.

Do you guys have any opinions/suggestions about each school? I will really appreciate any help! Please give me any thoughts.

Thank you!

Wow congrats! Those are the two top programs in the country. I am an undergrad in EE at Caltech and I know that our ChemE department is probably the best out of all departments in terms of recognition and facilities. 

You really can't go wrong with either.

Wow congrats! Those are the two top programs in the country. I am an undergrad in EE at Caltech and I know that our ChemE department is probably the best out of all departments in terms of recognition and facilities. 

You really can't go wrong with either.

Hey TheMostPowrefulApplicant,  for what research focus have you applied for Stanford EE? Have you heard them back? Do you know when we must expect to hear them?

I think boston is a cooler city than pasadena. Also i tend to like the overall population of MIT better than those at Caltech. Since MIT is a liberal arts school you tend to meet people interested in all sorts of things. 

I think this is a perfect case where you should visit both and see how you feel about the department, people, city etc. Both cities are pretty cool, in my opinion, in their own ways, but this is a personal choice only you can decide for yourself!

Also, keep in mind that for any particular school, the graduate student population there tends to be very different from the undergraduate community at the same school! I think a lot of times, the general perception we get from schools comes from their undergraduate student body's reputation!