UC Riverside 2014

Hi all,

I just wanted to make a thread for UCR admits to say hello and ask questions. I'm a current grad student and would be happy to answer any questions you may have (and, feel free to PM me if you'd prefer). 

Look forward to talking to/ meeting you all!

rdsull89, thanks for starting the thread! I have been accepted and am hoping to attend (mainly waiting to hear some information about my partner's job status) in the fall. I know it seems like a basic question, but we have been trying to begin the apartment search and I was wondering what your thoughts are on places to live in Riverside. We hope to walk/bike/ride the bus for the majority of our outings, if possible. Any advice? I hope to see you in March at the open house. 

I'm very torn right now, and I'm waiting for campus visits before deciding, but if I was the gambling type, I'd say that Riverside probably has a slight edge given the package and some family considerations based on location. I'm really looking forward to the open house. Have any of you heard back from the department after the initial recruitment letters? I emailed Tina Feldmann (asking if she could help me connect with current grads to ask a few questions) and Heidi Brayman Hackel (thanking her for the detailed letter), but I haven't heard back. I imagine they're swamped right now, though, of course.

In addition to program considerations, I am really hoping to get a sense for the family experience in Riverside. Schools, neighborhoods, where do people with kids live, that sort of thing. I'd like to live close to campus, but I am afraid that the schools might be better a bit farther afield. It's hard to weigh those things out without being local.

Mmorrison, glad to meet another potential student. I have not heard anything further than the initial decision email, then the email/letter from Heidi Brayman Hackel. I'm hoping to hear soon so I can begin making travel arrangements for the open house.