Medievalists, assemble!

(Please ignore my Avengers reference. Or, if you like Marvel comics, don't! :]) 

I thought it would be fun to have our own thread to discuss a few things such as Ph.D results (lament, triumph, whatever), what we're currently writing about, and maybe mention some of our interests (scholars, texts, etc.)? I know there are a few of us floating around here and it might be fun. Or it might not. Feel free to ignore me. 

Anyway, I'll introduce myself (needlessly, if nobody decides to join in). I'm AC, I'm an MA student in literature and I work with Old English/Middle English texts that relate to materiality, technics, and posthumanism. At present, this is a new interest of mine but it comprises much of my current research. I've been accepted to one Ph.D program (rejected by two, waiting on nine) and my aim is to work with narratives about saints and talk about the role of sainthood in Medieval texts as well as the temporality of the saint narratives and how they become reinvigorated during contemporary times (i.e.: Catholic saints and the Irish rebellion). 

Anyway, that's a super vague way of saying that I love reading Medieval riddles, writing about St. Aethelthryth, and I need a break from thesis writing. 

Hey there! Great idea to lump us medievalists in together! If you don't mind my asking, where were you accepted for PhD?

I applied to four programs, though the fourth (Calgary) is specifically through a grant and outside the normal application process. That would specifically be a digital medieval studies (either lit or languages) program. I'm pretty sure I have to offer up a proposal if I make it through the first round, so I'm busily studying up on the various projects out there for some inspiration.