Filing taxes - Fellowship

Eidda

Hello,

So I am new to filing taxes independently. So for this 2013/2014 school year I'm on a 18k graduate fellowship and received 9k for the Fall 2013 semester. Since this is not "wages" my school did not issue me a W-2 or 1099. How do I go about filling my fellowship stipend, which I know is taxable. My father insists that the school needs to provide me with some sort of documentation, and I plan on calling the office tomorrow, however the more I google the more I see how complicated filing fellowships can be and I don't wan't to screw this up. 

I assume I'll have to file federal and state (Indiana) as I was given my stipend in a lump sum with no amount withheld for tax purposes. 

Any tips? Or does anyone know of any resources? 

My school does not provide any sort of official document, just a year-end summary with the total fellowship disbursed.  Don't hold your breath waiting for anything!

Re: tips, FreeFile should be straightforward if it's your only source of income, though make you sure you know when to use a credit card.

• 2 weeks later...

A related question, is the amount we are getting as stipends pre-tax or post-tax? I mean am I supposed to pay tax from the total amount of stipend I am getting?

In almost every case, the number they quote you in your offer is pre-tax, because they have no idea what kind of deductions you may have, and thus what your post-tax income would be. This is the same as any other job offer, when employers offer you a salary, they are talking pre-tax amounts. So you should budget paying about 10%-15% of your stipend in taxes (probably more on the 10% side).

A related question, is the amount we are getting as stipends pre-tax or post-tax? I mean am I supposed to pay tax from the total amount of stipend I am getting?