first generation students

Guest guest47

Guest guest47

Any first generation/low income students out there? Do you feel like you face extra hurdles? You can't get advice from your parents about college let alone grad school. Perhaps lower professional networking skills....? Mostly, do you feel that it will be difficult for you to connect with other students in your cohort or even with factulty? I'm a little bit worried about this. Any thoughts?

Also, congrats on overcoming the odds! :D I'm confident that everything will be fine, but I wonder if any issues will come up because my background is different from that of most grad students.

Guest guest

Hi, I am first generation and low-income. My parents never went to college, and I'm the first to go for a Ph.D. My siblings and I are the first and only to ever go to college in our extended family. But I have an MA and I found that there was a bit of weirdness at first, because I was so intimidated by what other students had done already in their lives---travelled abroad, done internships (wheras I'd worked crap jobs all through college just to get by), learned languages, gone to more prestigious colleges than me, etc. They certainly had more connections and confidence than I did, but pretty soon you start to think...hey, some of these folks got this handed to them with little or no effort, but I WORKED my way to get here, so I'm at least as capable as they are, if not more.

I'm not actually first-generation (dad was JD, mom has PhD that she got when I was in elementary school) but managed to be low-income nonetheless. Surprisingly enough, my mom wasn't very helpful for the applications process because she literally applied to one school for her MS and one for her PhD and could not fathom why I was applying to 6 and thought it a complete waste of money. LOL. So in that sense, her grad experience didn't help me out.

Congrats to all!