Should I bother trying again next year?

Carlpolisci

Turning to the forum for some advice (which I should’ve done much earlier in the process, but those are the mistakes of a first cycle I guess). With 3 confirmed and 2 presumed (Columbia, Harvard) rejections of 5, it’s time to reflect. 
The core of the question is in the title: Should I bother trying again or is it a waste of my money and time. While I’m not going to relay on just the answers here, I’d really appreciate your opinion as you are all seasoned experts in the admissions circus. 

Some context:
I’m an international student with a Communication Master’s from an American School with more of a professional image. I also have a MA from my university at home (totally unrelated field). My GPA at the American School is 3.91, hard to translate the international MA, but according to some random website it’s 3.38. 
Research Interest is political communication. I know a lot of profs look down on that as a communication, not a PoliSci subject, but I tried to frame it in PoliSci terms in my SOP, seems like it hasn’t worked (happy to send in PM if anyone is willing to read). Because of my hybrid interest, I also applied to Annenberg as my only comms program and there’s a project in line with my interest at NYU, where I thought I’d be a fit.  

Strengths:

• Have published a book on my research interest, wrote one peer reviewed paper
  • Some other (journalistic) publications, lots of media coverage/punditry. Variety of Lectures, panel discussions. Some awards (e.g. Fulbright) 
  • Lots of academic teaching experience in research interest. 
  • LOR from the Fulbright Chair of my country. Others are ok, but no big names.   

Weakness

• Definetly my GRE which was 159 V/151 Q/4.5 - asides from running out of time I had hoped my strong CV evens that out. 
  • Lack of quant grades/experience/classes/anything.