got rejected to all my PhD schools...should i apply for master's?

Eileen Tran

So in theory, i shouldve been accepted to a phd program. I had great lors, 3.5 gpa, 2.5 years of research, good gre scores...but i got rejected to the four to which i applied. Two were after interviews. I thought those went well, but i guess no. t

Looking at masters programs, theyre all "better" schools than the schools i applied to for phd. How much harder will it be to get into a master's program?

Why not apply to a mix or masters programs, some "better" some "worse"?

Honestly, with your credentials, you seem to be in a good place for phd programs now. I am doing a masters and find it really helpful in narrowing down my research interests. It is not a bad way to go at all. Alternatively though, you could work in a lab/research for a year and apply to more schools next year. My guess is that your problem was just too few schools.

I had to go the Masters route also. I was not offered admissions my first go around

To the four schools I applied to either, but one offered me a Masters so I took the chance.

I think the deadlines are usually in April for some programs so start applying now.

It's not as hard to get in to one, it helps you really develop the skills you may be lacking

As a researcher before your phD and you can always reapply for a PhD once you are done,

Now with more experience.

Sounds like too few schools is in fact the problem.  I'd say go for the Master's and try to get into PhD programs again next year!  What were the 4 schools you applied to?  Maybe apply to some slightly "lower" tier schools next year?

I think it depends on what your goals are. If you have your heart set on a PhD (and leads to your desired career), then do research for a year and try again next year. Perhaps you didn't apply to places that were a good fit or you didn't develop any relationships with potential PI's.